31

Things I haven't done this Christmas

Not through some higher purpose or design, just because (mostly), I didn't get round to it.
31
  1. I have not sent a single Christmas card this year. I feel quite bad about this.

  2. I also didn’t spend the very few minutes required to write them for our lovely neighbours, put my shoes on and post them through their letterboxes. I have no excuses to offer.

  3. I have not wrapped a single present (yet). Well, unless you count the game we played at work where we had to wrap something using only one hand while holding a cup of water in the other hand.

  4. I have not (and will not) stuff the turkey. Instead (like always) I have ordered an overly expensive de-gibleted, pre-stuffed, ready prepared turkey crown.

  5. I did not buy the fancy red wine gravy (also pre-prepared) that no one realised they didn’t like until after they’d poured it all over the (overly expensive) turkey last year.

  6. I did not make it to the Christmas Market (despite every intention of going).

  7. I did not take the children ice skating (although this is still a possibility, as its open well into January….)

  8. I did not find matching pyjamas to put in the Christmas Eve box.

  9. I did not buy a Christmas Eve box…..

  10. I have not (quite) already eaten my own weight in chocolate.

But I am very much looking forward to a quiet Christmas at home with my family, playing games, opening presents and generally eating too much and trying not to worry about the mess.

Whatever you plans this season, however you choose to celebrate (or not), whatever you have or haven’t done, on purpose or by accident, I wish you joy and fun and laughter.

And I hope that you enjoy this little Christmassy animation that I made.

Bye for now,

P.S. If you’ve enjoyed reading, send some hearts (click the ❤️), comment 💬 or restack🔁 on Substack or share on social media.

When you subscribe, you’ll get a beautiful bundle of illustration assets in my Welcome Letter or upgrade to access my every growing gallery brimming with gorgeous illustrations to create beautiful things for your home, your life and online spaces.

If you have festive messages still to send, I have added seven festive animated gifs to the gallery that you can download and share with your friends and family.

31 Comments
While I Was Drawing
While I Was Drawing
Authors
Emily Charlotte Powell